Brake Pad Replacement Cost
What U.S. sellers displayed for brake pads, rotors and per-axle brake service on September 22, 2026, each price dated and attributed, then a tool to check the quote you were given.
- Shows the pad, rotor and brake-service prices that named U.S. sellers displayed, with the date and the seller of each.
- Checks whether the lines on your written quote add up to its total.
- Compares two quotes line by line and by scope: pads, rotors, hardware and axles.
- Give the price for your car: posted prices change with the vehicle, the parts grade, the store and the date, and service prices are often “starting at” prices.
- Inspect your brakes or say whether the rotors must be replaced.
Simplified drawing of a disc brake. Not to scale and not a diagnosis.
Usually named on this kind of quote
- Rotor (disc)
- Caliper
- Brake pads
What U.S. sellers displayed, September 22, 2026.
18 prices from 5 sellers, each read on the seller’s public page on the date shown. Before tax. Not an average and not the price for your car.
Part prices are for pad sets and rotors listed for three popular vehicles; the model year and trim were not checked. Service prices are “starting at” prices: the lowest price a seller advertised, which a final quote can exceed depending on the vehicle, the parts chosen and extra work such as rotors or hardware.
| What was priced | Observed | Prices | Sellers |
|---|---|---|---|
| Brake pad set for one axle, part only (listings for three popular vehicles) | $37.95–$50.95 (sale prices) | 5 | 1 |
| Brake rotor, part only, each (listings for one popular sedan) | $81.99–$102.99 | 2 | 1 |
| Brake pad set for one axle, part only (listings for three popular vehicles) | $39.99–$58.99 | 6 | 1 |
| Brake pad or shoe replacement at a store (axle count not stated) | Starting at $109.99–$259.99 (lowest advertised prices) | 3 | 1 |
| Brake service per axle, parts and labor | Starting at $199.72–$199.99 (lowest advertised prices) | 2 | 2 |
See every observation (18)
| Seller | Item | Price | Date observed | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1A Auto | Front ceramic brake pad set, part only, listed for the Ford F-150 (1 axle set) | $47.95sale price | September 22, 2026 | Open the 1A Auto page (opens an external site) |
| 1A Auto | Front ceramic brake pad set, part only, listed for the Honda CR-V (1 axle set) | $50.95sale price | September 22, 2026 | Open the 1A Auto page (opens an external site) |
| 1A Auto | Front ceramic brake pad set, part only, listed for the Toyota Camry (1 axle set) | $49.95sale price | September 22, 2026 | Open the 1A Auto page (opens an external site) |
| 1A Auto | Rear ceramic brake pad set, part only, listed for the Honda CR-V (1 axle set) | $37.95sale price | September 22, 2026 | Open the 1A Auto page (opens an external site) |
| 1A Auto | Rear semi-metallic brake pad set, part only, listed for the Ford F-150 (1 axle set) | $40.95sale price | September 22, 2026 | Open the 1A Auto page (opens an external site) |
| AutoZone | Brake rotor, part only, listed for the Toyota Camry; front or rear not stated (1 rotor) | $81.99listed price | September 22, 2026 | autozone.com product page, not linked: the seller’s terms restrict links |
| AutoZone | Brake rotor, part only, listed for the Toyota Camry; front or rear not stated (1 rotor) | $102.99listed price | September 22, 2026 | autozone.com product page, not linked: the seller’s terms restrict links |
| AutoZone | Ceramic brake pad set, part only, listed for the Ford F-150; front or rear not stated, mounting hardware not included (1 pad set) | $58.99listed price | September 22, 2026 | autozone.com product page, not linked: the seller’s terms restrict links |
| AutoZone | Ceramic brake pad set, part only, listed for the Honda CR-V; front or rear not stated, mounting hardware not included (1 pad set) | $46.99listed price | September 22, 2026 | autozone.com product page, not linked: the seller’s terms restrict links |
| AutoZone | Ceramic brake pad set, part only, listed for the Honda CR-V; front or rear not stated, mounting hardware not included (1 pad set) | $52.99listed price | September 22, 2026 | autozone.com product page, not linked: the seller’s terms restrict links |
| AutoZone | Ceramic brake pad set, part only, listed for the Toyota Camry; front or rear not stated, mounting hardware not included (1 pad set) | $42.49listed price | September 22, 2026 | autozone.com product page, not linked: the seller’s terms restrict links |
| AutoZone | Ceramic brake pad set, part only, listed for the Toyota Camry; front or rear not stated, mounting hardware not included (1 pad set) | $39.99listed price | September 22, 2026 | autozone.com product page, not linked: the seller’s terms restrict links |
| AutoZone | Semi-metallic brake pad set, part only, listed for the Ford F-150; front or rear not stated, mounting hardware not included (1 pad set) | $56.99listed price | September 22, 2026 | autozone.com product page, not linked: the seller’s terms restrict links |
| Midas | Brake pad or shoe replacement service at one store (Indianapolis), lowest advertised price; the page does not say per axle or what is included | $259.99starting at (lowest advertised price) | September 22, 2026 | Open the Midas page (opens an external site) |
| Midas | Brake pad or shoe replacement service at one store (Jacksonville), lowest advertised price; the page does not say per axle or what is included | $109.99starting at (lowest advertised price) | September 22, 2026 | Open the Midas page (opens an external site) |
| Midas | Brake pad or shoe replacement service at one store (Pittsburgh), lowest advertised price; the page does not say per axle or what is included | $189.99starting at (lowest advertised price) | September 22, 2026 | Open the Midas page (opens an external site) |
| Pep Boys | Standard brake service package, parts and labor, lowest advertised price (1 axle) | $199.99starting at (lowest advertised price) | September 22, 2026 | Open the Pep Boys page (opens an external site) |
| Tire Discounters | Brake service, parts and labor, lowest advertised price (1 axle) | $199.72starting at (lowest advertised price) | September 22, 2026 | Open the Tire Discounters page (opens an external site) |
RepairWorth is not affiliated with any seller listed. Prices change often; each row shows the date it was read. A seller can ask for a correction or removal at research@repairworth.com (not active yet).
Start with the total.
Unsaved draft restored from this browser.
Your quote
Itemized linesAdd only what the quote states
Scope checklistIncluded, excluded or not specified
Second quote
Itemized linesAdd only what the quote states
Scope checklistIncluded, excluded or not specified
Line by line
These figures are fictional interface fixtures. Loading one replaces unsaved entries in Quote A.
Enter a total or line
Nothing is treated as zero until you enter zero.
- Known itemized amount
- —
- Unspecified lines
- 8
- Unexplained difference
- —
- After stated core refund
- —
- Which axle does this cover — front, rear or both — and is the price per axle?
- Are the rotors being replaced, resurfaced or reused, and what measurement supports that?
- What pad type and grade (original equipment or aftermarket) are quoted, and what warranty comes with them?
- Is new hardware, such as clips, shims or wear sensors, included?
- Is a brake fluid flush part of this quote, and what is it based on?
- Were the calipers checked, and is any caliper work included or only recommended?
Arithmetic and scope notes only. RepairWorth does not rate the shop, diagnose the vehicle or know local market prices.
What the job usually involves.
Disc-brake pads are normally replaced one axle at a time: both front wheels, or both rear wheels. The technician removes the wheels, unbolts each caliper and hangs it aside without opening the brake hose, retracts the piston, fits the new pads and hardware, measures the rotors and cleans and lubricates the slide pins on calipers that have them.
Because the hydraulic system usually stays closed, a pad job alone does not normally require bleeding the brakes. The job ends with the wheel nuts tightened to the manufacturer's torque, a pedal check and a road test, often with a series of controlled stops to bed in the new pads.
On many newer cars the rear brakes include an electric parking brake. Replacing those pads then requires a scan tool or a service mode to retract the caliper, which can add time. Rear drum brakes use shoes instead of pads and are a different job on the quote.
What a complete written quote should state.
- The axle or axles covered, and whether each price is per axle or per wheel.
- The pad type, such as ceramic or semi-metallic, whether it is original equipment (OE) or aftermarket, and a brand or part number.
- What happens to the rotors: replaced, resurfaced (machined) or reused, ideally with the measured thickness and the manufacturer's minimum.
- Any hardware, clips or wear sensors included.
- Caliper work: routine service only, or replacement.
- Any brake fluid service, and the reason for it.
- Labor as hours or a flat price, shop supplies, disposal fees and tax.
- The written warranty on parts and labor.
SourceFederal Trade Commission — Auto Repair Basics (opens an external site)
What changes the total.
The largest differences between two brake quotes usually come from scope rather than the hourly rate: one axle or two, new rotors or resurfacing, and whether hardware, caliper service or fluid is included.
The vehicle matters as well. Larger vehicles, performance brake packages and electric parking brakes can change both the parts and the labor time. On some trucks and four-wheel-drive vehicles the rotor is built into the wheel hub or trapped behind it, which adds labor when the rotors have to come off. Pad grade, the local labor rate and tax account for the rest.
Pads only, or pads and rotors?
Rotors wear too. Many can be resurfaced (machined smooth on a brake lathe) if they will still be above the manufacturer's minimum thickness after machining. The figure cast or stamped on many rotors is the discard thickness; the service information may give a separate, higher minimum for machining.
Some manufacturers advise machining or replacing rotors only for a specific reason, such as measured thickness variation, deep scoring or heat damage, while some shops replace rotors with every pad job as a policy. Neither choice is automatically wrong. Ask which one the quote assumes and what measurement supports it, and compare quotes that make the same choice.
When a second opinion is worth it.
- The quote bundles rotors, calipers, fluid and hoses into one “brake package” price with no itemized lines.
- New rotors are recommended without a thickness measurement or a stated reason such as vibration, deep grooves or heat damage.
- One quote is priced per wheel and the other per axle.
- You are asked to approve additional work before it has been written down.
- An advertised or “starting at” brake price does not say which axle, pad grade, rotor work or hardware it assumes.
If the brake warning light is on, the pedal feels soft or sinks, or the car pulls when braking, have the brakes inspected promptly. A second opinion should not mean driving on brakes you are unsure about.
What to find in writing.
- Front axleBoth front wheels. Pads are replaced in axle sets.
- Rear axleBoth rear wheels. Some vehicles have rear drums, which use shoes, not pads.
- New rotorsReplacement parts, with brand or part number.
- Rotor resurfacingMachining the rotors; they must stay above the maker's minimum after machining.
- New hardware or wear sensorsClips, shims, springs or pad-wear sensors.
- Caliper slides cleaned and lubricatedSlide pins cleaned and lubricated where fitted. Caliper replacement is separate.
- Brake fluid flushA separate service with its own reason.
- Written parts-and-labor warrantyLength, and whether a “lifetime” pad warranty covers labor or only the pads.
Four checks that apply to every quote.
- Get it in writing first.Ask for a written estimate before work starts, and ask the shop to contact you for approval before doing anything that is not on it.
SourceFederal Trade Commission — Auto Repair Basics (opens an external site)
- Know the rules in your state.Several states regulate estimates. In California any charge above the written estimate needs your consent. Florida requires a written estimate for work over $150 and caps an unapproved overrun at $10 or 10 percent, whichever is greater, up to $50. In Michigan, unless you signed a waiver, a shop may exceed the estimate by up to 10 percent or $50, whichever is less, without asking you again. Other states have their own rules.
SourcesCalifornia Legislature (leginfo) — Business and Professions Code § 9884.9 (Automotive Repair Act) (opens an external site)Florida Legislature (Online Sunshine) — Florida Statutes § 559.905 Written motor vehicle repair estimate and disclosure statement required (opens an external site)Florida Legislature (Online Sunshine) — Florida Statutes § 559.909 Notification of charges in excess of repair estimate (opens an external site)Michigan Legislature — MCL 257.1332 (Motor Vehicle Service and Repair Act, Sec. 32) (opens an external site)
- Check for open recalls.Look up the vehicle identification number (VIN) on NHTSA's recall site; the search covers recalls from the last 15 years. Safety recall repairs are done free of charge at a dealer.
- Ask for the old parts.Asking for replaced parts back is a simple way to confirm the work, except for parts that must be returned for a core charge or a warranty claim.
SourceFederal Trade Commission — Auto Repair Basics (opens an external site)
Questions for a
brake pads and rotors quote.
- 01Which axle does this cover — front, rear or both — and is the price per axle?
Brake work is normally done in axle sets. A one-axle price and a two-axle price describe different jobs.
- 02Are the rotors being replaced, resurfaced or reused, and what measurement supports that?
Rotor work is often the largest difference between two brake quotes. Resurfacing is only possible while the rotor stays above the manufacturer's minimum thickness.
- 03What pad type and grade (original equipment or aftermarket) are quoted, and what warranty comes with them?
Pads come in several materials and grades, and a “lifetime” pad warranty may cover the part only, not the labor. A lower total can simply mean a different part.
- 04Is new hardware, such as clips, shims or wear sensors, included?
If one quote replaces the hardware and the other reuses it, the totals do not describe the same work.
- 05Is a brake fluid flush part of this quote, and what is it based on?
A flush is a separate service. Ask whether it comes from the maintenance schedule or from a test of the fluid.
- 06Were the calipers checked, and is any caliper work included or only recommended?
A sticking caliper can wear new pads quickly, and caliper replacement is a larger, separate job.
Terms, in plain English.
- Axle set
- The pads for both wheels on the same axle, replaced together so braking stays even.
- Rotor (disc)
- The metal disc the pads clamp against. It is replaced, or resurfaced if it is still thick enough.
- Resurfacing
- Machining a rotor smooth on a brake lathe. Also called turning or cutting. The rotor must stay above its minimum thickness.
- Caliper
- The clamp that holds the pads and presses them against the rotor.
- Hardware
- Clips, shims and springs that hold the pads in place and reduce noise.
- Wear sensor
- A small sensor or metal tab that warns when the pads are thin. An electronic sensor that has worn through is usually replaced.
Where the facts come from.
- Federal Trade Commission — Auto Repair Basics (opens an external site)Accessed 2026-09-22
- California Legislature (leginfo) — Business and Professions Code § 9884.9 (Automotive Repair Act) (opens an external site)Accessed 2026-09-22
- Florida Legislature (Online Sunshine) — Florida Statutes § 559.905 Written motor vehicle repair estimate and disclosure statement required (opens an external site)Accessed 2026-09-22
- Florida Legislature (Online Sunshine) — Florida Statutes § 559.909 Notification of charges in excess of repair estimate (opens an external site)Accessed 2026-09-22
- Michigan Legislature — MCL 257.1332 (Motor Vehicle Service and Repair Act, Sec. 32) (opens an external site)Accessed 2026-09-22
- National Highway Traffic Safety Administration — Check for Recalls: Vehicle, Car Seat, Tire, Equipment (opens an external site)Accessed 2026-09-22
What this page cannot tell you.
- The prices shown are what a few sellers displayed on one date, before tax: not an average, not a quote and not the price for your car.
- The guide is general. It cannot replace an inspection of your brakes or your vehicle manufacturer’s service information.
Content status: Technical review: AI-assisted, against common service practice, 2026-09-22; not reviewed by a certified technician.